The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum announced the winner of the 2024 Ferriss Trophy today at a luncheon and program at the Golden Moon Casino. The award sponsored by the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians and Pearl River Resort is presented annually to the most outstanding college baseball player in the state of Mississippi. The 2024 Ferriss Trophy went to Dakota Jordan of Mississippi State.

Dakota Jordan, the sophomore outfielder, has had a standout season for the Bulldogs. He has started all 55 games and leads his team in five different offensive statistics. He has recorded 74 hits, 61 runs-batted-in, and 17 homeruns this season. He was also named SEC Co-Player of the week during the 2024 season.

“Recognizing the excellence of college athletes in Mississippi is a priority for the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum,” stated Bill Blackwell, Executive Director. “Since its inception in 2004, recipients of the Ferriss Trophy have consistently pursued remarkable careers in baseball. We extend our congratulations to all finalists for their outstanding seasons, and we celebrate Dakota’s well-deserved honor.”

The finalists and winners of this prestigious honor are selected by a panel of coaches and professional scouts. Other finalists for the 2024 Ferriss Trophy were Brett Sanchez of Belhaven, Ethan Lege of Ole Miss, Dalton McIntyre of Southern Miss, and RJ Stinson of William Carey.

The Ferriss Trophy is a part of the Outstanding Player Awards Series which also recognizes the top college athlete in football with the C Spire Conerly Trophy and the top college men’s and women’s basketball players with the Howell and Gillom Trophies presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort.